Regional Rural Bank (RRB) : क्षेत्रीय ग्रामीण बैंक


Regional Rural Bank (RRB): क्षेत्रीय ग्रामीण बैंक

Establish : 2 October 1975

Act: RRB act 1976 (Which is passed in 1975)

Committee: Narasimhan Committee

Start-up Capital: 5 cr.

Present Capital: 2000 cr.

1st RRB Bank: Prathma Bank (syndicate bank, Moradabad, Up)

RRB Bank in Bihar (India):

UBGB – Central Bank of India


BGB – UCO Bank

Objective of RRB bank:

  1. The major objective or RRB’s are to develop rural economy
  2. Each RRB owned jointly by central government, state government and sponsor in the ratio of 50%, 15%, 35% respectively.
  3. RRB maintain CAR 9%
  4. Each RRB Function in a compact area of few district in one state.
  5. NABARD is giving RRB short-term & Long-term loan
  6. No RRB in Sikkim & Goa
  7. In September 2005, Number of RRB banks = 196
  8. Presently, there are 56 RRB operating in India
Guideline For RRB: क्षेत्रीय ग्रामीण बैंक
  1. Each RRB should formulate action plan to achieve self-target by end March 2017.
  2. Opening New branches fully equipped with technology & CBS
  3. Achieving 100% financial inclusion
  4. Improving CAR 9%.
  5. Gross NPA less than 3%
  6. RTGS and NEFT are online fund transfer way which is used by the help of sponsor bank
Board of Director of RRB: क्षेत्रीय ग्रामीण बैंक

1 Chairman – Appointed by central government

3 Director – Appointed by central government

3 Director – Appointed by sponsor bank

2 Director – Appointed by state government


Generally, the chairman of RRB belongs from sponsored bank.

According to Kelkar committee report, None of the RRB bank is open after April 1987

बंधन बैंक – BANDHAN BANK


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here